The Horse Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y’all!
Looking for feedback and personal experiences. I recently started riding again six months ago. I’ve been friends with my trainer and a couple girls at the barn. So now I end up spending more time there than just lessons. Often we all hang out together. I’m very happy to make horsey friends! These ladies are the only ones I have but the more I hang around the more I realize the trainer talks bad about people. Now not gonna lie, most of it I agree with because she’s talking about boarders that are incompetent and/or make bad decisions for their horses against the advice of my trainer. I like being in the “in crowd” but I do think it’s unprofessional. I really enjoy her instruction and she has great horses. If I ever left this barn to train at another, how would I even tell her it’s ‘because of her drama’? It’s a small town and I’m sure I’d see her at horse shows. Again. Any insight on barn drama. Lol. I guess I expect some because like hello it’s a female dominated sport ? but where do you draw the line?

·
Registered
3,425 Posts
Something I have learned that always shuts the negativity down, say, "That's funny, she always says such nice things about you."

If the bad-mouth session involves someone who would probably not say nice things or someone you don't like, you can end the negativity by remarking on some positive thing that person does, like "She's such a brave jumper" or "She ties her horse so carefully" or "I've noticed she always cleans her horse's feet before a ride".

I think most people start to be uncomfortable when bash sessions start, but they don't know how to get out of them. I've noticed if you can tactfully slide out of a bash session, most people are eager to end them. You can steer the "in crowd" away from the negativity, and most of the time, they will gratefully follow you.

·
Registered
49,421 Posts