The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
993 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Firstly I do not have access to any trainers/rider instructors, and I am a beginner if you can call me that...so with that in mind I will continue...

I am getting into English riding a bit, mainly because I would like to jump my horse, and because I just want the know how and want to have some fun ...

So my quest is does anybody have any advice on getting started? Beginner Books/DVDs or tips that worked for you or seemed easy to understand?

I want to learn the right way of English riding, and I'm willing to go slow...

I have ridden horses, mostly I have rode them bareback or with a western saddle... Fire away with answers:D!

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5,155 Posts
Hi there Emily :)

I know you say you have no access to an instructor.. is that just English, or western too?

If you want to jump, an instructor for both yourself and the horse is imperative I'm afraid, too much can go wrong to not have one.

Time scale, if you're looking to jump, and have ridden before, i would say around 12-18months, depending if your horse knows how to jump already.

Is your horse learning English with you, or is your horse English? So many questions!

If you have a horse that already knows english and is a bit of a school master, you'll find it a lot easier in comparrison to having to train a western horse for english.

·
Registered
840 Posts
The US Pony Club Manuals are extremely good and can be found for cheap on Amazon or eBay. The books are aimed at children but even an adult can find them beneficial. I found them to be super helpful, they start at the very basics and there are multiple levels that go all the way up to advanced level riding but written in a way that is easy to understand.