The Horse Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi, I am just writing this seeking a little bit of advice. I am new to ownership, having owned my horse for only a couple of months, and only leased before that. The past couple of days he has shown mild lameness in his front right leg. He will walk normally and trot fine on the lunge line, but with me sitting on him he struggles to trot, and refuses to turn to the right if the turn is at all awkward or sharp. Instead he pulls at the bit, which he never does, and eventually crosses his left leg over.

I’ve stopped riding him each time but I have no clue what exactly is wrong with him as he walks and even trots alongside me just fine. To provide context, I just got back from a two week trip. On the same day I got back he was visited by the farrier who redid all four of his shoes. That night I rode him for the first time but got off shortly after as it grew dark and he ended up badly spooking at a cat.

Since then I have attempted light work a couple of times, which is when I started to notice issues. Once before I noticed something was wrong, I did a walk trot canter warm up but grew concerned and frustrated when he refused to turn right.

At the time I had no idea he was in pain. The next day I did a light walk trot but soon noticed his head bobbing as we grew faster. However, he was fine on the lunge line so I figured he was perhaps a little sore and gave him the next day off completely.

Flash forward to today, I was prepared to see him limping. Surprisingly he trots beautifully but soon starts to bob his head and will not pick up his right lead when I tentatively ask for a canter. I immediately get off not bothering to try lunging him because at this point I feel guilty for having attempted a canter at all. He seems happy enough and I cannot spot an obvious abscess or any swelling. I am confused and worried.