Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hey everyone,

Soo I'm new at posting so just bare with me,
Im also a 19 year old beginner and have only been riding for a few months and absolutely love it! I would had started at an earlier age but never really had the time, but i had to start somewhere!

Anyways i know its a slower process doing one hour lessons once a week, so i was looking into Leasing a horse, Now i just wanted to know how much it would cost me to lease , how much time would i need and would i need to pay for vet bills, dental bills and farrier etc.. I don't live in a family that have a lot of money, reason why I'm not buying a horse just yet,firstly i want to have experience before buying my own horse so leasing is the only way... so if you could help me that would be great :)

·
Registered
49,003 Posts
It sounds like you are approaching this with much thought and maturity, which I must applaud you for.
There are all kinds of leases out there and you might want to look around before you decide what you want to do. Most common might be where a barn that has a lesson program will have lesson horses that they part lease out, so you have one day where you take a lesson and one day where you are free to ride as you please. Something like that would probably be around $225 to 250 around here, but might be really different where you are.

Or, you can full lease a horse, which means you pay for pretty much everything, but then again, it's whatever you arrange with the owner.