The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
4,510 Posts
I'm fairly new to the gaming world, but my Arab mare goes in a french link loose ring snaffle and always will. I intend my Paint to always go in a snaffle as well. I think that if you're requireing a harsh bit, then proper training hasn't been done. I don't think barrel horses should be jazzed up uncontrollable airheads who only know how to run a pattern.

·
Registered
3,113 Posts
^^Agreed. I think the bit should correspond with the level of training of both horse and rider. Typically I like to see a greener horse in an easier bit, so as not no hurt its mouth should something go wrong. The more experienced the rider and horse team the more finesse you can ask for, this is where you get into curbs and gags. A very experienced and light handed rider can use just about any bit on any horse, but IMO, in the gaming world, those are few and far between.

I personally have used eggbutt snaffles, medium port curbs, french link curbs, loose ring snaffles, and a rope hackamore once or twice. It all depends on how I am feeling and what I think a horse can go well in. IMO my level of training is not high enough for me to use anything that could be harsher than a meduim port curb, I am very light handed, but I do not want to risk grabbing a horse in the mouth should something happen.

·
Registered
8,466 Posts
It depends on which horse I am riding. Generally I'm riding Jester, and I just use a snaffle on him.....or even just a halter. However on Annie, I'd use a curb. It depends on how your horse responds.

·
Registered
253 Posts
I ride all my barrel horses in the million dollar bit. I love the bit, and I see more flex come out of my animals when I run them in it.

·
Registered
3,490 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
THIS million dollar bit?? do you have a pic of it on ur horse so i can see how it looks? it looks kinda harsh! but it could be just all the chains...

·
Registered
5,455 Posts