The Horse Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a very light coloured palomino and I was wondering which would be better, black or brown tack? I recently got a black saddle and I have never tried any brown tack on him before. I am just asking for the future to see which would suit him best? Any thoughts would be muchly appreciated!
Theseis a photos are of his colour.

·
Registered
6,912 Posts
I don't think it matters, as they both "read" similarly, visually, especially if the brown is dark (usual in english tack). Black will make a bit more of a contrast, brown is a warmer look.

Black is traditional in dressage; brown is traditional in other english disciplines. Mixing colors is avoided. But that is all just for competition. If you aren't competing it doesn't matter.

·
Super Moderator
11,964 Posts
As Avna said black is traditional for dressage but if competing in low levels in Eventing then any suitable saddle in brown or black. Other disciplines it would likely be the same. My preference on a palomino would be a medium dark warm reddish brown. While I do ride at home in mismatched tack when working out sizing and bit preference I have matching sets because it just looks better - more finished and not thrown together. Bottom line is you ride in what you have that works for that horse and if you are going to compete you put effort into coordinating your gear you will show in.

This is an old thread. Not for replies but if you aren't showing then non traditional colors could be fun.

·
Super Moderator
14,113 Posts
On a Palomino I would not do black if possible to avoid it.
Browns, and rich deep colors to make the features of the animal pop.
I also would not do wide and padded width tack on that sculpted face as you've shown other pictures of your horse I've seen before.
The less "straps" to me the better way to enhance and show her beauty.