The Horse Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
*I italisized my questions for ease of finding them!

I am fairly new to blanketing my horse, and where I lived previously, it was pretty cut-and-dry with what he needed. I originally started blanketing him because he is in his low 20's, and struggles with his weight, although he does grow a crazy winter coat. But in the UP of Michigan, the winters could get nasty, and I didn't want him ever using up his spare calories shivering. I had two blankets available to him at all times, a midweight (220gm, for between 15-40F) and a heavyweight (380gm, for 15F and below). I also have a rain sheet available, but only really ever used it for horse show mornings.

So, the blankets I have are:
- Rain sheet
- 1 Midweight blanket
- 2 Heavyweight blankets

I attached a picture of his current condition - this is his "normal" weight, his ribs show just a little. I am currently in between adding a fat supplement (Buckeye Ultimate Finish, see previous threads for specific feeding), or switching him to being stalled at night so he can have access to alfalfa. Please give me your opinion this as well!

Now that we have moved to the LP of Michigan, I am out of my element of how to handle blanketing. The weather currently during the day is in the high 50's to mid 60's, but at night it dips into the low 40's. I would ideally like him to be blanketed at night right now, but my barn does not offer blanketing at all, and I don't blame them! I don't live close enough to realistically drive back and forth daily. My midweight blanket is too warm to be left on during the day to cover him at night, and I don't own a blanket light enough to stay on during the day. I don't want to risk using just the sheet, in case it hurts his ability to keep himself warm.