The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to purchase new boots for barn work and riding. I am fairly new to the horse world and would appreciate any recommendations. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,787 Posts
Western or English?

·
Registered
476 Posts
I bought a pair of Durango Rebel square toe pull on work boots about 4-5 months ago and they have been the most comfortable boots I have ever had. Then to top it off they are waterproof and I have waded creeks in them many times as well as all the mud we have had this winter. Great boots!

·
Registered
355 Posts
I love these boots by Ariat. They are basically a hiking boot with a heel. I got them originally because if you need to get off your horse while out riding you'll want a comfortable boot to walk in. I've had my first pair for years and can't seem to wear them out! Worn them all over riding and hiking--they are also waterproof--I tested it. My sis bought me a new pair for Christmas so I'm good to go for years more. :)

https://www.statelinetack.com/item/ariat-ladies-terrain-boots/E005505 075 TAU/?srccode=GPSLTB&msclkid=35ddc0785cb21cf6b7a59cd

·
Registered
62 Posts
I have a pair of the Big Bass Anderson Bean boots and love the looks of them but they don't hold up to riding/being at the barn every day. They'd be better off as a nice pair of boots. Before these I had Ferrini's and I loved them! They lasted quite a while and they're really cheap!

·
Registered
2,869 Posts
Paddock boots, I like Dublins. For tall boots, Ariats. I use runners any other time, just get a pair that have a water resistant outer, not mesh.

·
Registered
6,703 Posts
I have found it much the best to have two pair of boots, one for cleaning and the other for riding. Otherwise I trash my riding boots right away.

I like Mucks for cleaning and Ariat Terrains for riding. I ride english trail. If I rode western I'd probably wear the same though.

·
Registered
483 Posts