The Horse Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As anyone on here ever broke a cow to ride? I have a heifer how is too small to breed but is big enough to ride or even pull a cart. She will most likely never be bred. She is very friendly even likes to play with me and is easy to catch. I have put a halter on her i can just walk right up to her and put it on. But that’s as far as i’ve gotten. She really like food so i think i may be able to do it with R+ but i have zero experience with breaking cows/steers. She is about 850-1,000lbs but is short. Her half sister is also very small. They are the result of a new bull so we aren’t sure why they are small. physically she seems fine and it’s not dwarfism so riding/breaking her shouldn’t affect her.

·
Premium Member
Retired breeder
2,438 Posts
How old is your heifer?
Yes, I did ride our family milk cow. I was in between horses, so figured one day, after milking, I'd give it a go. She was great. Like your heifer, she was very tame, liked people.
If she's 850 to 1000, she's plenty big to breed. What breed is she? Choose a bull with a small birthweight for her first. She should do fine after that.
When I say I rode our family milk cow, I'm talking saddle, bridle, the whole shebang.

·
Premium Member
Gracie, Lily, Chewy, Sam, Jack and Bill
128 Posts
I second zimalia22 about your heifer. Her weight sounds just fine to breed…just make sure to use whats called a “heifer bull”…. A bull that is used on first calf heifers that is known for producing low birth weight calves. Also, depending on breed, she may be a smaller breed in general… there are Aberdeen or Lowline Angus, Dexter, Galloway….basically a long list of “mini” breeds of cattle.