The Horse Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just wanted to say hi and give a little of my horsey background. :D I grew up taking lessons in hunter/jumper when I could scrape together enough babysitting money (my parents weren't in favor of me riding sadly). I was addicted to horses as far back as I can remember!

In my early adult years it was hard to get around horses much less ride since I was going to school, work, starting a family, but I managed here and there.

In my late 30s I finally had a little land in the country!! I figured that owning a horse I'd need to know more than I did just going out to ride someone's horse for an hour lesson so I found a local "trainer" (I use quotes because I'm new-ish to horses, certainly to training them, but I'm a professional dog trainer so I know something about training theories and to me anyone that gut kicks a horse for fidgeting a little bit when clipping fetlocks or YANKS savagely enough on a bit to leave the corners of the horse's mouth skinned and raw is NOT a true trainer!!) willing to let me lend a hand at the stable in return for teaching me a few things.

After awhile she said she knew a guy that was looking for a home for some of his OTTBs so we agreed to go look at them if she could come with us to give her more experienced opinion. At the end we were assured by the owner and "trainer" that the gelding we really liked would a) be fine for light riding with some pasture rest (bowed tendon) and b) was DEAD BROKE since he and others rode these horses all over the place, not just at the racetrack. We went from the owner's house straight to the vet who agreed, the bow wasn't bad and he would be fine for riding with about 6 months of pasture rest. Got him home, he lost his mind finding himself all alone, we immediately went back to the owner and picked up the mare he was looking to give away, brought her home, and everything was fine :p