The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there! I am new to being an OTTB mom so I am learning as I go along, and now that winter has hit I am being faced with a slew of cold weather issues. Recently my horse Whiska, a 13 year old Thoroughbred mare, has had a hitched gait at the trot. My trainer believes that she is just being sensitive to the cold, Southern CA winters get below 34 degrees at night and she is very sensitive, but still I'm slightly concerned. Some days she comes out a little stiff then works out of it but usually she walks very free, stretches over her topline and over tracks by about a foot (she is a master at destroying bell-boots because of her reach), and is very happy to canter collectedly and do flying changes or gallop full out on mountain trails, but her trot has been off. She has the typical TB vices of bad legs but the one she is off on, right fore, has been tested sound. I've been using Back on Track boots and those have helped her slightly unsound left fore immensely, but she still has this hitch on her right. Bute does nothing for it, and if I ask her to collect and correctly use herself it's hardly noticeable or not at all. It only shows up when trotting quickly on a loose rein or when she trots around in her pasture. So, my question is, do you think this is a problem that a chiropractor can help? Since I know her right fore is sound could it be a problem higher up in her body? My friend who has a serviceably sound 6 year old OTTB swears that it did wonders for her horse, but I wanted to get another opinion before spending the money. If you would like more information or videos, just ask :) Thank you so much!

P.s. This is my first post on any kind of forum website, so I hope I'm doing this right!

·
Super Moderator
9,733 Posts