The Horse Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still pretty new to the western pleasure world and I have a breed level horsemanship jacket and was wondering how to go about cleaning it. There's nothing just horrible about it, it's just been worn in a dusty arena and the white isn't exactly white anymore.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
10,041 Posts
I take it there is no "Directions for Care" or anything, huh?

I guess to be safe I'd take it to a dry cleaners. Especially if it is a jacket/coat with a lining.

If that is not possible, I'd soak it in a cold water hand wash detergent. (Something like Woolite). I'd soak it in that. Rinse it gently and thoroughly. Dab as much moisture as I could with towels, and hang it to dry. When I hung it, I'd pull the material and along the seams to straighten it as much as possible. Or "block" it on an absorbant, flat surface (if you don't have a drying rack).

·
Super Moderator
26,877 Posts
I usually take my western shirts and jackets to the drycleaners and they come out fine.

Reactions: waresbear

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I take it there is no "Directions for Care" or anything, huh?

I guess to be safe I'd take it to a dry cleaners. Especially if it is a jacket/coat with a lining.

If that is not possible, I'd soak it in a cold water hand wash detergent. (Something like Woolite). I'd soak it in that. Rinse it gently and thoroughly. Dab as much moisture as I could with towels, and hang it to dry. When I hung it, I'd pull the material and along the seams to straighten it as much as possible. Or "block" it on an absorbant, flat surface (if you don't have a drying rack).
Not at all, it's likely to have been done by a designer. No tags or marks and it's either altered or a custom. I bought it used and am unsure of which designer it would be though.

We tried to go the dry cleaners route, not a single one around will take it.