The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've just recently started working on collecting my mare, and I wanted to see how you guys think she looks. I come from saddleseat, where the definition of collection is completely different from western's, so I'm still learning.

This is BEFORE I started collecting her:

One year ago:

One year ago:

Four months ago:

Four months ago:

The pictures below were taken a week ago, after working on collecting her for about two months.

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

BTW - Although it looks a lot like she's trotting in some of the pictures, she's doing a foxtrot. It's exactly like a trot except the front leg in each diagonal pair hits the ground slightly before the hind leg (which you'll see if you look closely). She's supposed to have a long, low stride in the front and a short, high stride in the back.

·
Registered
496 Posts
shes really pretty!!!! i love the spagetti strap and jeans in the first pics!

·
Banned
5,526 Posts
Nice horse but you are not getting real collection via a curb bit.

I would say you are getting a better frame and the back appears to be working more in tune with you.

·
Registered
6,635 Posts
I just love that horse, she's beautiful. =]

My only comment is make sure she doesn't get heavy on the forehand. I know that's typical in the WP world, but it's definitely not the only way to go about it. =]

And Spyder? Why is it that you can't get true collection in a curb? My mare is much closer to collection when I ride in her curb on the trail than when I ride in her snaffle. o_O

·
Banned
593 Posts