The Horse Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always been a very competitive person. At some point I decided I would just not try on things I knew I couldn’t win or excel at because I didn’t want to fail especially if someone was there who could do it or was better then me. This is a horrible mind set and I have been trying to correct this mindset for a while now. Well when I started riding it was not to compete or get to a certain point at a certain time. I wanted to be brought into this world correctly and learn from the ground up. I found the perfect place and started taking lessons. As soon as I got to the barn I had the urge to try and make myself look like I knew exactly what I was doing. I had irrational fears that I would be looked down upon for not knowing what I was doing because I had had lessons in the past (15 lessons to be exact between 8 and 14 years old) and been on a few trail rides. My instructor is a very nice lady who went through the whole process of grooming and tacking up before letting me lead the horse up to the arena, and asking me about my riding experience as we went. When we got to the arena, I got onto the horse and she told me to ride the horse around as if I were looking to purchase or lease the horse. At this point I was nervous because it had been a couple years and I had no confidence in my ability to ride at all. So I got the horse walking and then tried to turn. All the horses I rode previous to this were direct reign (not that I knew what this meant at the time). To say the least the horse did not turn and we started from the basics of teaching me seat positioning, turning aids, and explaining what and why it works. Before starting these lessons, I had talked myself down from the mindset of I’ve already had some lessons I should be here to understanding that we were going to start from the beginning most likely on a lunge line (this did not happen until teaching me to post the trot)