The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying a journal format to keep track of an interesting adventure, so bear with me, I am not used to online journals but I like Horse Forum and find it very encouraging to read about the experiences of other horse lovers.

In September this year (not two months ago) I agreed to foster a Thoroughbred from the local horse rescue centre. This was a somewhat hasty and not (as I am sure you will advise me it should have been) a carefully considered decision. The reason is that........well I will have to go back a bit to get to this point. I keep two horses on a 5 acre smallholding, on the Southern coast of Africa, and have lived here with horses, dogs, cats, birds, buck, tortoises, snakes, mongooses, porcupines and various other wildlife for over twenty years. I ride for pleasure, the horses are companions and friends and there is no commercial value to this equine establishment, and I am a professor at the local university so my salary keeps the horses.