The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so 4 months ago I started riding, and by starting riding I mean started riding. I got on a horse for the first time 4 months ago. So far I have perfected these things:

-proper position
-trot
-posting trot
-the right posting legs
-2 point
-jumping ( I have jumped a small verticle, and cross rails. )
-and I can canter on the lunging rope

I have done other things too, but have not perfected them yet. :)

So, that is what I have learned in my first 4 months :)

I am planning to lease after this summer coming up. :)

So please tell me if my progress has been okay, and if you think it's a good idea to lease at the end of summer. I plan to practice A LOT during the summer, so please take that into consideration.

Thanks,
ponycrazy

·
Registered
32 Posts
Alright, some pictures would be helpful so we can see what you mean by "perfected". I find it hard to believe that anyone has perfected their position and perfected jumping in 4 months. While I'm not saying it is impossible, I think we could just better help you if we saw a picture of you jumping, etc.

You seem to be making good progress, though! I don't think you have to be the perfect rider to start leasing a horse. You just have to know how to care for a horse, tack one up by yourself, etc. Since you will probably be taking lessons still while you're leasing this horse, your trainer can help you improve and the horse you lease can be a good teacher as well. :] Good luck!

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Alright, some pictures would be helpful so we can see what you mean by "perfected". I find it hard to believe that anyone has perfected their position and perfected jumping in 4 months. While I'm not saying it is impossible, I think we could just better help you if we saw a picture of you jumping, etc.