The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been riding for 2 years, and I just started jumping. These are some videos of me jumping on Higgins and Murphy, two excellent school horses at my barn. Higgins is the chestnut Hanoverian gelding, and the jumping in those clips, it was my first course ever! Murphy is the dark bay Thoroughbred gelding, and those clips were from my fourth jumping lesson.

And I DO know that my leg is too far back most of the time over the jumps, but I'd like some more critique other than that. And if you value your sanity, watch the second one with your sound turned off. I didn't listen to the music before I put it on, and it's pretty awful!

Murphy and me:

Higgins and me:

Thanks for watching, and I look forward to your feedback!

·
Registered
338 Posts
first off you look amazing for being a new jumper!!
murphey videio:
good seat!
i think you stirrups looked a tad short, mabye just lower them one or two holes
nice releases, but remember not to give your reins away, i noticed that in between some of the jumps there were loops in your reins. this is a really common problem with new jumpers because there are so many things to be thinking about when you jump.
heels down over the jumps!
another comon problem with new jumpers, you anticpated the jump and leaned foreward a little too far in your 2pt (in other words, dont fall on to your horses neck); let your horse lift you up into the position, i think fixing your upper body position would help solve your leg problem too.
higgins video:
first off, georgeous horse!
get those heels down again!
you had some really great jumps in there where your 2pt looked really good!
again though, there were some jumps where you jumped ahead of your horse.

overall your looking great for a new jumper, keep it up!!

·
Registered
172 Posts