The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!

I have a gelding that I sold, then had to buy back because he wasn't getting fed. He lost about 250 pounds in about 2 months. I've had him back since September and ever since I've got him back he's had ulcers. I've never had a horse with ulcers so I have no experience with them.

I haven't had him scoped but I can't ride him currently. Every time I get him saddled he goes to bucking like a bronc. When I had him the first go he rode around great and wasn't a bucker. I think he gets nervous about the saddling and will walk around fine but once I go to trotting and loping he breaks in half.

He's been getting the maximum dose of Purina Outlast (2 cups) since I got him back, and I'm currently treating him with Ulcerguard. I keep hay in front of him 24/7 and keep him turned out as much as possible. What are some other things I can do or try to help him out? I really want to get him rideable again, but don't want to dump tons of money into him.

Thanks!! :)

·
Registered
29 Posts
There is this liquid called Ulcer Plus. It is around $100 dollars for a gallon. It has aloe vera and sea buckthorn berry pulp in it which is an amazing help for the digestive track. I don't know if that is any better than the Ulcerguard or if it's even more affordable but I'm just putting it out there as another option.

I knew a horse who was on medicine for her feet as she has navicular. Anyway, she got ulcers almost right away from the medicines so they began giving her the UlcerPlus and it worked like a charm.

Also, I just did a bit of research on Ulcerguard and that is used to help prevent horses from getting ulcers. Gastrogard is used to treat existing ulcers in the horses stomach.

·
Registered
653 Posts