The Horse Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I feel like I am not improving with my jumping at all. I have been doing 2'3-2'6 with my trainer for 2 years, when I know we can both me and my horse jump 3' comfortably.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Does she let you jump higher with other horses, or just your horse? Theres a lot more to jumping then just scope, at higher levels the horse needs to adjustable, straight when riding to the jump, and carrying herself well. Your horse could be physically capable of jumping that high, but maybe she's not quite ready for that yet. I would ask your trainer why she hasn't had you move up to bigger jumps. She could have a reason for keeping you and your horse under 3'.

·
Registered
7,070 Posts
First thing is always to ASK YOUR TRAINER. We don't know you, or your trainer, or your horse. There could be a good reason, there could be a bad reason, or there could be no reason. If you don't have the kind of relationship with your trainer that you can ask such questions, THAT is a red flag right there, although who is to blame for that is not knowable from here either.

Leaving a trainer because you want to jump higher could well mean you find a trainer who doesn't care much whether you are ready or your horse is, but will take your money regardless.

·
Registered
2,124 Posts
Have you asked why you haven't been moved up? There are so many possibly explanations and I wouldn't jump to saying "get a new trainer" at this point.

Reactions: Danneq

·
Registered
Elle, 1997 Oldenburg mare
2,133 Posts
A lot of horses and riders never go higher than what you're jumping right now. Especially in hunters. You can do a lot with that height. Jumping higher jumps doesn't mean you're doing "better" as a rider, and it's more wear and tear on your horse.

·
Banned
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·