The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought my first horse a little over 2 months ago. I just want to ride for fun, trails, whatever, so I wanted a begginner friendly horse that I could just enjoy. I’ve been riding for many years but it was off and on since I moved a lot. Anyway I looked at 5 horses before I found him. He was a lot shorter than I wanted and not exactly the color I was looking for-but he was amazing on the trail and not spooky at all. When I brought him home he started going through the biting faze- and I was always having to smack him just back and forth. Always putting his ears back. I didn’t ride him for 3 weeks because I thought he may have ulcers/pain. However, when the vet came for a check up he was 100% healthy. So he had just been having an attitude problem. I even got him adjusted by a chiro. This horse has never buck/rear/bolt but he throws his head all the time. It makes me nervous. I take him in a circle and then he just keeps doing it. I don’t want to fight back with him too much because I’m scared he’ll start bucking. Today he was refusing to go down the trail and just putting up a big fight. I’m just so tired of fighting with him. I just want to enjoy my horse. I had to hire a trainer to come to me which wasn’t the intention and we’ve done some lunging lessons, but this was never the plan. He’s 16 year old horse whose very well broke so it makes me think I should stick with him. I bought him after my mom died and he’s suppose to be taking away my stress but i just have so much anxiety with him. His ears always pinched at me, head throwing, etc. on other horses I would be cantering away but with him we just aren’t connecting. I feel like I shouldn’t give up but idk what to do

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
Your horse probably is a good horse, but he sure has a respect problem.