The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! Ever since I started riding I have always wanted to Jump. But the closest lesson barn is over 2 hours away.
Is there a way to learn how without going to a lesson barn? I have a horse who have jumped some before. In my area everyone mostly rides Western and Barrel Races...
What should I do??

·
Registered
3,439 Posts
You can learn to jump from reading books and practicing with your friends . . . but you won't be a show jumper. You will just be able to jump. To be a show jumper, you are going to need lessons. Perhaps you can video yourself and send it to an instructor. I can see that working . . . for a little while. I think to be a serious jumper, you will need real lessons with real instructors.

I learned to jump from reading books, and I got along fine. I didn't do all that well at horse shows . . . and I knew why. I knew I needed real instruction to compete against the kids who were getting weekly or twice weekly lessons. I knew I was just lucky to have a horse at all. I wanted to horse show, and I did, but I was never going to be top notch. I was lucky to have what I had.

·
Registered
389 Posts
All horses can jump but it's a matter of should they and is the rider prepared. This is why, as posted above you shouldn't jump alone. Jumping makes riding much more dangerous. That aside, I don't think the OP was saying she wanted to be a show jumper. Perhaps just the freedom of being able to jump on a horse. You can build your own little cross rails if you want to start and you have your own horses to gradually get them accustomed--if that's what you want to do. But not alone. Have a spotter.

·
Registered
311 Posts