Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
My name is Michael and I study the effects of the many different populations of bacteria in the stomach of the horse. Without getting into the many details of the project (you are certainly welcome to ask and I will answer!) I am studying how worm infestation affect the horse's health and How anthelminthics affect the horse's health as well.

To further my understanding on how these two factors affect horses I am coming to you with a question today, and i hope to have a good response and be able to count on the experts here for more!:)

What type of drug do you use to eradicate the horses(Ivermectin, Moxidectin, Fenbendazole, Pyrantel Salts) and do you notice any affect on the horses performance when using these drugs?

Any information, suggestions, or questions would be great for my understanding and beneficial to my project!

Thanks

·
Registered
2,934 Posts
What timing!

I'd love to see the finished paper and I'm willing to bet a lot of people here would.

I have 3 horses. None would I class in anything using the word performance. 2 are in advanced old age and the other in her mid teens and just ridden lightly. They are at very low risk for parasite infestation. They don't come in contact with other horses and are wormed regularly. I rarely even see another horse ride by. They wander 20 acres.

Mostly I use whichever brand of ivermectin is on sale but I do dose with EquiMax, which is ivermectin/praziquantel mixed and occasionally some Pyrantel.
No side effects noted ever. The smallest and oldest one, 40yrs is regularly double dosed because of a neck threadworm issue during the warm weather.

·
Registered
1,999 Posts