The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm new to the Horse Forum site and fairly new to the horse world. I've only been riding for the last 3 or so years and this spring I am getting a horse of my own! Once the ground thaws we have to put up a fence and then I can make the big purchase! Yes, I understand horses are a lot of time and money and I know what I am getting into. But in the time from now until this spring I would like to start purchasing items for "my horse." I know I can't get saddles/bridles or any of the big tack items but I was wondering what I could get. If you guys have any good ideas on stuff I should be getting or an idea of what kind of fencing I should use it would be greatly appreciated! Please get specific too, for example not just "brushes," but dandy brush, curry comb, mane and tail brush, somewhere along those lines! Thanks so much!:) If you could also put what I will need to get once I have "my horse" that would also be great!

·
Super Moderator
10,225 Posts
I use a minimum of equipment.

I have a rubber curry, stiff brush, soft brush, hoof pick, and small mane/tail comb. I get brushes in the mid-range of prices and make sure they are comfortable to hold.

I often make my own fly spray, if flies are an issue in your area.

Options for fencing depends somewhat on where you live and on how large or small your pastures and/or paddocks are going to be.

You can get great, great information from you county extension office. Every county in the US has one. They have information on everything from horse health to pasture management, fencing, weed control, nutrition, plans for automatic waterers or for solar tanks, you can often get trees for windbreaks through their office. So much.

·
Registered
4,685 Posts
Having a vet kit is a good idea as well
here's a list of what's in mine-