The Horse Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone I don't post on here very often!
But i'm looking for some advice,
I have a 5 year old pony, whome I've had since birth, I've done everything with him since birth, he is well behaved in every aspect.. just riding..

He doesn't buck nor rear he just gets excitable, when he learned what "cantering" is he started trying to rush and thought i was asking him to do it all the time, it took some time but i taught him you canter when I ask not when you want to.. and that we have to go into canter from a steady trot not rush into a fast trot then into canter.. It was all good till he learned jumping.
Since he's learned what jumping is he's gone back into being excitable again, I manage to get him focusing on me and learn not to rush.. as I didn't jump often anyway.. im not very good at it!

I have recently got a part loaner, who does jumping and she has started doing that with him. I'm not sure how he rides with her at the mo. But I watched her ride a few times before agreeing to part loan/share. I however am concentrating on his flat work more.. he is normally very responsive and listens to voice commands.. but he seems to be getting worse.. the other day it took me 10 minutes to get him listening to me, every time i turned him inwards towards centre of the school he would go into canter, or if i turned him to go into a circle he'd rush and not bend as if he was trotting sideways. I tried transitions, pulling and releasing, checking him, even turning tight circles to stop him going into canter. When he's being good he is really soft in the mouth and really well behaved. But i'm not liking this excitable horse, it makes him hard to ride, and almost unenjoyable.. I understand he may be "confused"
But does anyone have any tips of any flatwork I could do with him to get him more responsive and not so aprehensive of what im going to ask him next...

·
Registered
125 Posts
Hi there!