The Horse Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all!
I'm currently part-boarding a slightly older mare, 17, who had been out of work for awhile before I started riding her in August, partly because of injury and partly because she was too much to handle for most of the school kids and leasing prospects she met. Her injury includes a pulled tendon in a front leg, but also just general bad conformation that compounds every little thing.
She's made huge strides since I've been working with her (not trying to toot my own horn- she's incredibly smart and a naturally hard worker). I've been working more on her behavior issues in saddle rather than her fitness issues since that was the limiting factor (can't exactly work on circles or transitions if she throws a fit every time you put your leg on!) but simply as a result of riding her more her fitness has already improved a lot. But I've finally gotten her to the point where she's going very nicely and politely and I can start introducing more complex work. My only issue is deciding exactly what's best for her current fitness level; it's also hard for me, as a fairly inexperienced horseperson, to decide what exactly she needs help with the most or rather what exercises she'd benefit most from. So here I'll try and give a rundown of what she's struggling with and what exercises will best help her.