The Horse Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Elle, 1997 Oldenburg mare
2,076 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was riding Elle yesterday. Her part boarder had recently had a pretty bad fall off of a different horse at the barn, and wanted some company for her ride to feel a bit more confident. So the plan was to take turns riding Elle, and lunge the other horse. So, of all the days, and all the horses... it had to be off the steady Eddie old reliable confidence-builder schoolmaster.

I've been riding Elle since autumn of 2015, and my only fall off of her (until yesterday, cough) was last spring when she did a sudden 180 spin spooking at something at the back of the property. Well!

All was going absolutely fine. I was on Elle warming her up, and my part boarder was just through the doorway in the aisle getting the other horse, Parker, ready. I had just started trotting Elle, and had her on a fairly loose rein to let her stretch out for warm-up, when BAM she did a spin in a corner near the mounting block and stacked round bales -- completely opposite from the corner that usually makes her look twice, oddly enough. I didn't immediately come off, but she sort of kept jogging (I think -- hard to say when you're half-hanging off the side of a horse) so I couldn't really get my bearings and gradually slid down to the ground and landed fairly gently on my butt.

I was juuuust out of view of where my part boarder was with Parker, so I walked over and said
"Oh my god, she just spooked at NOTHING?? in the corner!"
"Really? Why'd you get down?"
"I, uh, didn't..."
"Ohhh!"