The Horse Forum banner

Finding a saddle for a roly-poly pony

480 10
Hello all! I have come to seek some wisdom on an age old struggle...fitting a saddle to the wither-less, barrel-shaped, short-backed pony. She is an extremely easy keeper who put on some pounds while I finished my degree and lived too far away to work her regularly.

Horse Plant Vertebrate Fence Working animal
Plant Fawn Grass Terrestrial animal Liver

Now that I am back home, I am slowly bringing her back into work and am at the point where I can work on re-introducing tack...problem is, I don't have a saddle out here wide enough to accommodate those withers! I have been looking into Western saddles, Aussie saddles, and am also considering a treeless saddle from Ghost. I do not compete or show at this point, so the saddle just needs to be comfortable for arena work and trail riding. Does anyone have tips or brand recommendations for saddles with wide trees that are also suitable for short backs? The longest saddle skirt length she can fit is 26" front to back. I am fortunate enough to be in a position where I could afford to buy a saddle brand new as well, so cost should not be an issue. Thank you all in advance!

(PS...if anyone knows where to find western-style woven wool blankets that are 32" long or smaller, please let me know)
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12,793 Posts
I second an endurance saddle, Arab cut because she is short backed.

An Abetta would make sense as they aren’t that costly. I’m betting the saddle won’t fit her once you get her fit and back to a good weight and you will need to buy another one 🥴🥴

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think one of my horsey acquaintances actually has one of the synthetic Abetta endurance saddles for her Belgian mare! The design looks very familiar.