Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

In 2012, I rescued a beautiful mini mare who had been badly abused and neglected. She was about to be sent to slaughter, when I threw her in my trailer and brought her home.
A few months later I was surprised as ever to find out that she was pregnant.

In April 2012, she gave birth to a beautiful little colt.
The mare and colt were taken back by the original owner about 6 weeks later (since the "sale" of the mare was never made official, I really had no say"
And finally the 2 of them were dumped at a local rescue, where I immediately went and picked them up.
They have been back for about a year now, and they are finally healthy and happy ponies.
I have never ever had a baby horse before, so I will admit I have absolutely NO CLUE what I'm doing.
I have been around horses for years, so I'm not a complete noob, but babies are completely new to me!

He is 2 years old now, and I've worked with him quite a bit on basic things. He leads, stands tied, picks up his feet, etc. I can do whatever I want with him, he is very very smart and well behaved.

That being said, he is developing an attitude that I am unsure how to address.
When you are trying to lead him somewhere, and he doesn't feel like following, he will rear and throw himself on the ground in protest. This is strange because he has never had an issue with leading before
If you have food and aren't feeding him, OR if you don't have food and you aren't feeding him, he will bite. HARD.
Normally when he bites he gets a firm "NO!" and a smack on the nose, but this has been going on for months and hasn't helped.

He has not been gelded yet, so I am sure that has something to do with it, but I wanted to wait to geld him to ensure that his development was not affected by surgery or hormone imbalance (I'm slightly paranoid).