The Horse Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have ridden english for the entirety of my riding career, with only occasional "playdays" in western. I was offered and accepted a summer job guiding trail rides and helping with backcountry pack trips... and I wanted a pair of ****** for looks and also protection. Now as a college student I don't have hundreds to spend and as beautiful and durable as custom chaps may be, there is a real possibility that I will not use them after one or two summers of doing this job. So I bought a pair of the Tough1 chaps (please don't shun me).
They really aren't too bad, but the sizing was really weird. The waist was entirely too big... like at least 6 inches too big and these are a size Small. That was fixable with some hole punching, but now I am worried about if the thigh buckles fit correctly? Most pictures I see show the buckles wrapping all the way around the leg, but these don't. Is this still acceptable? I don't want to show up with ****** that don't even fit! :think: I also don't have an opportunity to ride in them, at the moment.
I added a picture - it's just slightly at an angle, but you can see how it is fitting. I welcome any other tips too!
Thank you!

Attachments

·
Registered
3,642 Posts
I think those buckles are going to bother you when you ride. Especially if you ride long hours. My husband and daughter both have ****** and the end with the buckle is sewn over on the outside of the leg and is adjustable so the buckle is on the upside of the back of the leg (if that makes sense) in this picture the buckle is in the middle of the back of your leg- a part of your leg that may come in contact with your saddle and horse.

Our ****** both were custom made from an e-bay seller and for a couple of hundred bucks they are awesome and both pairs are a few years old now.

·
Registered
49,438 Posts
also , they look kind of tight on your thigh. Have you tried riding in them?