The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can gaited horses be ridden comfortably in a regular western saddle, or do they require saddles specifically made for gaited horses? I imagine the function is different. I come from the world of dressage and hunters so this is entirely new territory for me!

·
Super Moderator
14,695 Posts
I'm not an expert on this but...
Many make comment that gaited horses have a wider scapula and that regular width saddle trees are not shaped wide enough to accommodate that extra width.
To me, if you are conscientious and fit your horse with a saddle that"fits" ....
Well, not every horse is built the same and bars and angles are made for different breeds, sizes and shape of horses.
I know my friend has Paso Fino horses and her saddle fits my horse, and my saddle fits hers.
I notice no difference in the horses ability to have shoulder movement with no restrictions regardless of which saddle he is tacked up with.
I think what is more important is just good fitting tack period.
To narrow and they pinch..
To wide and they sit and restrict by pinch...
My horses are not dainty and small in stature so my saddle is already "wide"...and allows shoulder movement easily.

I've never actually seen a bare gaited saddle tree next to other different manufacturers products for a comparison.
I have seen many bare trees from different manufacturers and can tell you there are differences noticeable in what they look like and especially how they measure..
Put them all together and...
You need a saddle that fits properly...
Whether that is gaited or not...fit is everything based upon the bone structure, muscle development and fat on any equine.
:runninghorse2:...
jmo...

·
Registered
3,025 Posts
No, gaited horses need a saddle that fits :wink: