The Horse Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long/sad story short: I work as a part time stablehand at a local barn with my 2 daughters (ages 12 & 15), and we have met a lot of wonderful people/role models for them (which is why I do it - plus a love of horses, of course!).

One of the girls that we are pretty close to is 17 yrs old, and has been absolutely *dedicated* to a mare that most people would have given up on years ago. She is out there EVERY DAY; loving on, grooming & exercising this horse, in spite of the fact that she will likely never ride it again (soundness issues), and in spite of the fact that the mare is a pretty "tough customer" (very Alpha, a bit grouchy, etc.). She's one of those kids that give you hope for the next generation, and I love that my girls have befriended her. I genuinely like her, too, and am kinda a "Barn Momma" to her.

Anyway, The sad part :(
The horse died unexpectedly - colic, but likely caused by a tumor that shifted/grew/metastasized.. who knows? But bottom line, crashed FAST & had to be humanely euthanized.

So, my question: We are so sad for her, and know that there is nothing that makes this "better", other than maybe just kinda being there to listen & empathize & support her. But we would love to get her a token or gift that recognizes her loss, celebrates her love & her dedication to her horse. Any ideas? Or leads to companies that that may be able to help? Or just general "nice ideas" for thoughtful gifts.

Thanks so much!

·
Registered
5,303 Posts
Unfortunately I have none, but sure more creative folks will. There is hope for the next generation, because people like you show the way.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
If anyone thought to keep some tail or mane hair, a bracelet made out of it is a very good gift.