The Horse Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been leasing a horse for about 6 months now and use the owners tack. She has a shoulder relief type girth which I'm not used to using but never thought twice about the way I was putting it on. The other day I went to the barn to ride and the owner was there riding her. When we were done riding I was untacking the horse and noticed she had the girth facing the other way. I didn't ask her about it because I didn't want her to think I was a dummy incase I've been using this girth wrong for 6 months! Can someone help me out. Picture is of how I've been using it. Picture of girth F for front (facing horses head)B for back (facing to rear of horse) Thanks in advance!
20210510_164621.jpg

·
Registered
Elle, 1997 Oldenburg mare
2,138 Posts
Yep, you've got it right! The girth for my close contact is the same, and I use it the same way you do.

·
Super Moderator
14,985 Posts
Both pictures are from totalsaddlefit.com website for illustration of their product used correctly.

🐴...

·
Super Moderator
12,914 Posts
The small curve goes under the sternum and faces forward for support. The deeper curves on that side go under the arm pit area with the long smooth curve facing back that allows the buckles to reach back toward the billets.

It isn't a TSF I am thinking HDR contour?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The small curve goes under the sternum and faces forward for support. The deeper curves on that side go under the arm pit area with the long smooth curve facing back that allows the buckles to reach back toward the billets.

It isn't a TSF I am thinking HDR contour?
Are you saying the way I'm doing it is backwards?

·
Registered
2,138 Posts
The curve in the center should point forward, and then it curves back for elbow room. You've been using it correctly, as far as I know!

·
Registered
14,885 Posts