The Horse Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner rider, I am just getting back into shape after an injury and I want to ride again. I'm going to try tomorrow but I'm really nervous. My mare hasn't been ridden since I was injured and I'm really worried that she's not going to be ready to be ridden by a beginner. Or that I'm not going to be ready.
Of course I'm going to take it slow and I'm going to have someone with me, but I can't help but get spooked that she's going to get spooked at something or buck or... I don't know.

The circumstances are just unfortunate. It will be my first ride on her. I've never been this scared to ride before. I think what I want to do is have someone get on her first and just...I don't know.. show me it's ok?

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
It is more than ok - it’s the smart thing to do. Depending on the length of the break - If you can get someone else to ride her consistently for a week - even better.

Did you get injured because of something she did? It could well be that she isn’t the right horse for you at your current level of riding and there is absolutely no shame in that. If she is too much horse for you, don’t ride her. It would be like a beginner skier going down a black slope. It just isn’t done. And you fear is there to keep you safe.

·
Registered
8,473 Posts
Absolutely, let someone else with more experience ride her first. Maybe then do short, easy rides. You could also start with a bit of groundwork before you even get on, just to set the tone and help each other relax. Then maybe have someone walk beside you when you ride, just for the first bit. Practice deep breathing (yoga is great for this). Take really deep breaths all the way down into your belly. Often, when we are nervous, we hold our breath and hold in tension, and the horse picks up on it. Intentionally breathe deep and relax into the saddle - really sink in. Take your time.