The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a equine nutrition novice, so bear with me....I currently feed my horse Racers' Edge Low Starch grain. He also gets a mineral supplement (free choice) and salt (free choice) in addition to his grazing and hay. He could stand to lose a little weight, but is not alarmingly overweight at all. (could maybe lose 100 lbs max) In fact, we just cut his feed back this week from 1.5 scoops twice daily to 1 scoop twice daily to see how this works in his favor. Is there any benefit to switching him to timothy pellets from the grain? Do horses truly NEED grain? I know there are many opinions on this, but thought I'd throw it out there :)

:runninghorse2:

·
Super Moderator
12,656 Posts
If he is getting his calorie need met by the forage whether hay or pasture and you have him on a "daily vitamin" aka ration balancer (like the purina free balance of something similar) then no need for grain at all.

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
I would say for a horse in minimal work (especially one that is chunky), then grain isn't required at all. If you have a ration balancer or minerals/supplements sometimes it is necessary to mix it in a little bit of grain or pellets so the horse eats them.

My guys all get a bit of soaked beet pulp with their minerals once a day. I like the beet pulp b/c it is low sugar and gives them extra water and is great for their guts.

·
Registered
10,565 Posts
I am a equine nutrition novice, so bear with me....I currently feed my horse Racers' Edge Low Starch grain. He also gets a mineral supplement (free choice) and salt (free choice) in addition to his grazing and hay. He could stand to lose a little weight, but is not alarmingly overweight at all. (could maybe lose 100 lbs max)
If he really is 100# overweight, that is way too much weight.