Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
First of all I would like to say I am very new to horse forum and just joined. I have just recently purchased my first foal ever. I bought myself a little quarter horse filly. Now I have worked with horses almost my whole life, but never have I ever owned a foal before. So I was wondering if I could get some hints and tips. I notice when I am leading her on the lead rope she is very much so into my space. I often give her a shove and let her know that my space is exactly that, MY SPACE. However, she pushes herself into me right back. Also she needs a little work with walking beside me. I know she is probably just being stubborn, but as I said. It would be wonderful to get some help with this and see if I can break her stubbornness sooner than later.

Thank you :) ,
BreezeMyQuarterLovely

·
Registered
531 Posts
Do you have a trainer helping you with this horse? If you do I would work this out with your trainer. But it sounds like you are on your own. So do you know any trainers that could help you with this?

If you are going to fix this yourself I would say you need help and a little more then you can get here on the forum, there are many trainers out there with good videos.
All that being said, one reason your filly is pushing into you is she is pushing you to see what the boundaries are. If you correction is not changing the behavior then I would say your not getting your point across. I would do a little more the just push her back. You need to make her move her feet and raise her fear level. I never physically push a horse with is issue. Clinton Anderson does a good job of using his lead rope to encourage the horse to move its feet away from you. You need to show your horse you are the boss and soon, its much easier to be the boss the to take the position of boss back from your horse.

·
Registered
41 Posts