The Horse Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...Got on a horse and just "clicked"? Like you fit perfectly together, unexpectedly?

This type of thread is a little out of character for me, but lately a mare has me wondering. I have ridden dozens and dozens of horses, and owned well over a dozen personally, of all shapes, sizes, breeds and ages. I really like the vast majority of horses, and feel that I 'click' with a few. My current arab mare that is my main saddle horse was NOT love at first site, at all, but I sort of slowly fell for her, and now I don't think I'll ever sell her. My 3 year old chose me at 10 months old, I thought she was hideous, but I've grown to love her.

anyways, more to the point of my story, the mare. I will start by saying that I AM NOT a quarter horse person. I started riding on drafts, fell in love with English riding, then moved on to endurance. I have been bitten, kicked, bucked off and generally abused by more quarter horses than anything else.

I was at an auction this spring with my BO, who was looking for a project for the summer that was, ideally, a potential kids horse. well this little bay mare walked into the ring(or should I say jigged in) and they started to auction her off. she was in a long shanked bit, which she clearly hated, and she raced nervously around the ring, head in the air, fighting her rider the whole way. But I liked how she was built, and something about her made me think she wasn't as bad as she appeared in the ring. I nudged my BO, who ended up buying her for a reasonable price. The first thing she said was "what have you gotten me into??".