The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a rear hoof of my 10mo old donkey, (Jack, awaiting to geld). His backs are worse than the front. And even a light rasping shows the red. At first I thought maybe I trimmed him to short, but it persists. I’ve been trimming donkeys for a few years and have never seen this! He isn’t tender footed at all, runs, plays. He doesn’t get grains, just grass hay, and occasional pasture time. (Max 2-3 times a week for 1-4 hours) his confirmation isn’t great but that’s ok he is a pasture friend.

Attachments

·
Registered
14,153 Posts
Diet change usually. Sometimes even dewormers can cause this.

·
Registered
144 Posts
I am not a vet but it looks like some abscess going on.My black smith says use iodine on the hoff for a week.It not only healths the abscess but also toughens the hoff.Hope this helps.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It’s in all four hooves 😞. So I’m not thinking abscess. I was thinking diet but does it look like his white line (laminae) is stretched? Worried if he genetically or dietary foundering?

·
Registered
14,153 Posts
I have no idea about donkeys at all, sorry. When I add something to my horses' diet or worm them, they get little streaks of red, I asked the farrier and a vet about it the time, this was ages ago. Both gave the same answer, diet change and or a dewormer.

·
Registered
9,592 Posts
He is ten months old ---- my foundered 22 year old never had soles that looked like that.

You need to get the vet involved in those hooves "yesterday". Gelding is not going to be an option until whatever is causing those hoof issues is resolved. My knee jerk reaction is major founder from something but again ------ he is only ten months old-----

Also, is that left rear leg swollen of is still covered in a thick layer of winter hair? If you're in the northern hemisphere, he should be nearly or completely shed out by now.

Please get the vet out, quickly.