The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm brand new to HF & really need my fellow equestrians to lend knowledge & experience to a rider who's just getting back into her passion after being away from it for 20 years. I grew up riding in the Crosby PDN days, which is what I rode in & owned from childhood to early 20's, so that's what I know & trust. I was overwhelmed with all the tracings & measurements I heard about in order to fit the OTTB I recently adopted. Gone are the days of one saddle fitting a variety of horses is what I was told lol.
So I went back to my PDN roots & started looking online for a nice used wool flocked Crosby Close Contact. I read about Used Crosbys on COTH, HA, HF, etc & became interested in The Sovereign several pancake saddle lovers raved about.
I found one on Ebay & it has visible little nailheads on the underside of the pommel that follow the curve that sits over the withers. Is this normal or has this saddle been refurbished? Also the billet straps are sewn to a piece of light tan fabric that comes out from in between the flaps. It looks different than I remember & of course I want to make sure they saddle is authentic & safe. I don't need the billet straps giving out while doing any type of riding!!!
Below pictures show my concerns. Please give me your 👍 or 👎 opinion of what you see in the pictures. Thank you 🐴❤

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
14,725 Posts
Hi Joy and Welcome to the Forum.

I too am from the days of PDN and "flat" saddles...
No knee and thigh roll to keep your leg in-position...
You learned to ride with correct position or you learned how to eat dirt when your support base was weak...
A different kind of rider we were at that age....

So, the material billets are attached to I've seen before, but not so prominent as that...
My one saddle is similar to this but much higher in the inner support of the saddle itself so not so visible.