The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that sounds ridiculous. I've been riding for 23 years so I should know better, but I'm not sure what else it can be and it's becoming dangerous.

My 14 yr old 16.3hh OTTB gelding I've had for over 8 years ( my first horse ) has always been very possessive of me. He will shove his way between me and another horse, lunge at a horse that gets too close to me, chase others from me etc. He's even done it when I'm leaning under him for a blanket strap or wrapping/unwrapping his legs. It's very scary!! And he is always very clearly trying to keep the other horses away from me. Now, I know what he's doing when he does that, and quite honestly it once saved my life when a horse attacked me six months after I got him. I probably would have been killed if he hadn't come to my rescue, but that is a long story and I'm already rambling, sorry!! =( He is so so sweet, he is wonderful to ride, and he is so very friendly. Huge part of the family.

Anyways, he deems himself first in my life, and no other horse can be next to me or he has something to say about it. I prefer for him to be out with either a very submissive mare, or a mare as dominant as he is. A moderately dominant mare who wants to move up ****es him off. Unfortunately, my 17hh 12 yr old Holsteiner/TBx mare I rescued almost 5 years ago is moderately dominant, wants to move up the totem pole, and has now been forced back into being turned out with him by my barn owner. They are like siblings. They love each other, they hate each other. They fight, they play, they graze nose to nose. For the most part, they're so sweet to watch together, even grooming each other all day. Until they see me, and then the trouble starts.