The Horse Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I've recently gotten back to riding after 15 years off. I rode Saddleseat for 10 years and then basic dressage for another 5 or so. Then I had a long time off and am now trying to get back into it. I've found a great barn in almost every way except its mainly western and I have no experience in this area. They have a wonderful, affordable shareboard program and I've recently started shareboarding a Tennessee Walking Horse. Her owner has no problem with me riding her English, and I'm just more comfortable riding this way (nothing against western, just what I'm used to) So, the mare is great and I love her, but I"m having a hard time with the gait. I can't seem to get her to gait and instead she is doing a pace. This is murder on my lower back, which is already in bad shape. Today I rode with her owner watching me and she tried to coach me into how to get her to gait, but she was just pacing. Then the owner got on her and she wouldn't gait for her either. So the owner told me that it would be fine for me to just ride her at the pace and post to it to save my back. I tried it and it seemed pretty fine - a little weird, but not too different from a trot. (this mare does not trot at all)
So I thought that was that but I started researching a little tonight and I keep coming across things that say you should not let your horse pace, you should train the pace out of them, etc.. Even though the horse's owner (who is also the owner of the barn) came up with the idea of letting her pace and having me post to this, is this truly something I should not be doing? I've read a few things that say this can actually hurt the horse. I have no experience with gaited horses, so I am looking for opinions on this. Is it really ok to ride this mare at a pace and post to it like its a trot?

·
Registered
796 Posts