Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I have been riding hunt seat for three years and am just now starting to learn to sit the trot. The delay is because I had been riding a very bouncy, jaunty, uncomfortable OTTB (in my avatar and my "barn") and was just concentrating on different aspects of riding. Now that I've switched barns I'm riding a QH with more normal gaits (English gaits - not a western jog).

I was hoping for some advice or tips to help me learn to sit the trot. I have done some research on it so I know that I have to move my hips in such a way that I will rise and come down at the same rate as the horse... but how? lol please help!

Thank you

·
Registered
17,293 Posts
The only way I can describe it is to disconnect all the vertebrae in your back from each other and your pelvis, ie your pelvis must be able to move independent of your back. Any tension in your back will result in tension in the pelvis. The pelvis should be able to move side to side and tip forward and back. This allows your body to follow the horse's movement. When you cantered the OTTB did your pelvis roll with the action?

·
Registered
212 Posts
I thought I was pretty good at sitting the trot, until I started on my short, green, qh. LOL!

Really have to focus hard on keeping relaxed and letting my hips tilt from side to side like saddlebags said, and it's still not pretty yet. Good luck!

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
You have to be very very loose and relaxed through your back and hips. This doesn't mean flop around and get slouchy, but you have to really let yourself move with the horse.