The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I started riding from the ages of 8-13 and I loved it but stopped because I just grew out of it. I’m now 20 and have recently taken it back up, and have completely fallen in love with it again! However I am having a lot of trouble with cantering. I just get really uncomfortable and feel like I’m going to fall off even though the horse is incredibly tame, well trained and is without a doubt one of that safest horses at that particular riding school. When I was younger I was completely fine I have no idea what’s going on with me. I get so nervous beforehand and when I am cantering I actually hold on to the saddle for balance because I’m afraid I’m going to fall. When I was younger I never had that problem at all. How can I get more confident at it while also feeling safe while on the horse? I feel like 5 years of riding has been completely forgotten. I’m fine with jumping while trotting, but at the moment a jump in canter makes my stomach turn. How can I get over this and be the confident rider I used to be?

·
Registered
190 Posts
I was always told that you have to have a solid foundation at the trot to have a good canter. Both in regards to the horse and for the rider's seat. It does take a little practice to gain good balance at the canter, but once you've got the hang of it, it becomes second nature. If you are nervous, you may be tensing up, which in my experience is more than enough to through me off balance.