The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My mare was given to me in July. She has never left the farm, and is pasture mates with her 5 year old daughter, and a 15 year old TWH mare. She has serious herd bound issues, and I need some suggestions to break them. I would like to start working her more under saddle, but every time I try to take her out of the barn on her own, she freaks out, as do the other 2 horses left in the barn. I do not have a ring or an indoor to work in. All I have is the paddock and large pasture area. I have been doing ground work with her for 7 months, trust building, games, lunging, liberty work, etc. We have a great time together in the barn or when the other horses are right there, but I want to have fun when we work one on one. I am a first time horse owner, and still timid, as well as having balance and confidence issues of my own. When she starts to prance and dance, and get panicky, I give in and take her back. I KNOW that's the WRONG thing to do, I don't need a lecture on that. I just need ideas of things I can do with her to make her feel more at ease being away from her buddies, and things that can help me build my confidence and become the leader on the ground and under saddle.

·
Registered
339 Posts
Wow the same thing happened to me and my horse, which is my first. He was with a mare and her daughter. anywho. What they did at my barn long before I bought him was slowly wean him away from the other two. We have an indoor and they had him in there and he could see the other two still, and now hes not even in sight of them and doesn't have a problem at all. I don't believe they ever lose herd bound-ness...The trust excercizes should definatley help though. But back to your question... is there a possibility of spliting the pasture??

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter #3