The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
[/ATTACH] Jaw Tooth I got this horse a couple of weeks ago and when I bought her she was shod. My farrier came out a couple of days ago to pull her shoes off and said she has white line disease. I wanted to post pictures of her back hooves and get your opinions. I'm very new to horses and the problems they encounter. Please give me any and all advice!!

·
Banned
1,653 Posts
If that's white line dease it needs to be cut out and treated dailey. Your farrier should be able to cut out the deased hoof wall. That does look like white line dease don't want to put off getting taken care of.

·
Premium Member
24,134 Posts
Hi & welcome!

That is a messy, flared & stretched looking foot for a start. This is immediately after the farrier removed the shoe & before he trimmed I assume? Be interested to see the 'after' shots. I'm guessing it would probably have come up not too badly after a good trim, but can't tell much from just that pic alone. WLD can also be insidious & you don't know for sure how far it's gone until you 'go exploring'. If you would like a hoof critique, you need to provide a range of photos. See the link in my signature below for what is required. Some info on diet, management, etc is also helpful.

If the farrier said horse has 'WLD'(aka Seedy Toe), especially with all that excess stretched wall material, I hope he trimmed it 'assertively' and cleaned out the diseased wall material as needed, or, if it was his first visit to the horse & depending on what he found, he may have trimmed minimally for now but arranged to come do a proper trim & deal with seedy very soon? You can/should treat it topically as well, but it generally needs more than just topical.