The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 156 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to the horse forum but here goes nothing. I partially lease this pony named Betty. She’s a pony and a mare so she has quite the attitude. When I put her saddle and girth on (I don’t slam the saddle down or tighten the girth all at once or too fast) she “bites”. What I mean, is she pins her ears, throws her head back and bites the air next close to you but not close enough to actually bite (most of the time anyways). The only advise I’ve gotten is to whack her but it (understandably) makes her want to bite me more and puts her in a bad mood for a few minutes. I’ve also tried ignoring it and pushing her head away but she still does it. The last thing I’ve tried is something I read. Kicking her leg lightly to redirect her attention (not to cause pain) and then making her walk for a bit. That hasn’t done anything either, it doesn’t redirect her attention unless I kick her really hard (which puts her in a bad mood).

She’s not by any means a biter, this is the only thing she “bites” at. She’s a healthy 11 year old pony and doesn’t have anything medically wrong with her. Does anybody know how to deal with this? Any and all help is appreciated.

·
Registered
741 Posts
The response you're describing is called being "girthy." This response is an indication of pain or could be a habit that was created out of past pain. This is not an attitude, this is not being mean - this is her trying to tell you "that hurts!!" The most common cause of a girthy horse is gastric ulcers, and when you tighten the girth, you're irritating those ulcers in her stomach. You should talk to the leaser about how long this behavior has been going on and ask if she/he could call a vet out to tell you what the best steps forward are in regards to diagnosis, treatment, management, and prevention.

·
Registered
3,398 Posts