The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
From previous posts and threads that I have read, i have come up with another question:

Which horse breeds tend to be fairly easy keepers (maintain good weight etc.) and out of those breeds which would make the better jumper?

*Sorry if this is in the wrong section didn't know which section it really belonged too

·
Registered
992 Posts
Like I said in the other thread you posted, along with temperament being an easy keeper isn't necessarily breed specific, it depends on the individual. Most(not all) stock horses tend to be easier keepers, but that's a generalisation, not a rule.

Also, any well conformed, sound horse can safely jump up to 3'6".

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sorry... its just that yes this will be my first horse, i have had plenty of experiences riding all sorts of breeds from clysdales to arabs to TB's. Which ever horse I get will need to live out all year round (will have some sort of shelter and rugs) so i want to make sure i get the right type of horse that can cope with that.

·
Registered
992 Posts
Any horse can cope with that, if given the time to adjust. My guys are out just about 24/7, unblanketed. And are very happy that way. A three sided shelter and plenty of hay is all you need to keep a horse happy. And also like I said, just make sure you get the horse based on its training level and suitability to you. And always, ALWAYS have fun.

·
Registered
1,910 Posts
We have some thoroughbreds that have been off the track for some time (not sure how long. I'm guessing 3+ years), that live just fine in the pasture. They have acclimated to being up north instead of in Arizona. They are pretty hardy and tolerate the different weather here pretty well.