The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone, I鈥檝e just joined and this is my first time posting 馃檪 I am leasing an 11yo ottb gelding and I wanted to see if anyone else has had any experience with their horse loosing hair in clumps- to the point where you can see bare skin underneath? I鈥檒l put a photo up as well. How long would you leave something like this before calling the vet? I鈥檓 in Australia and it鈥檚 spring so he should be shedding his winter coat, but I didn鈥檛 think it should be that bad? Any advice would be great, thanks!

Attachments

Super Moderator
Welcome to the Forum!!

Where are you seeing the loss of great amount of hair that gives you concern?
I think you are dealing with rain rot, also some call it rain scald...
A bacterial infection of the skin that needs some topical treatment...
Products like shampoo made for skin conditions specific to rain rot, original styled Listerine or the generic store brand mixed 50/50 with water and sprayed on those areas to stop the infection may help depending upon severity.
This can and does spread quickly and from horse to horse so be careful using brushes or any tack one animal to another...
There though is a reason if this is rain rot/scald occurred in the first place...
Winter woolies is often when it is seen because we just don't groom as well as we should and coats are thicker that reduces drying to the skin needs done after sweating of the animal...
Host sites of under a damp blanket often compound the problem.
Other horse care things like Banixx works well to help clear this but you need to address the reason which is a deficiency in vitamin/minerals the animal needs. @walkinthewalk has I believe the amounts given and what to give that I don't know horse to horse..{I alerted walkin to this post to come offer insight & help}

I know what to give my horses but that is my animal and weight and may be different from your animal..