The Horse Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a student at MSU and am taking a horse management class this semester. I have a project to do where I can own as many horses as I want, basically, I start from the ground up...anyways I chose to have my horse farm in Kentucky. There's a farrier section that I have to complete, but I'm not sure what the average prices for trimming and shoeing are in Kentucky. For my project, two of my horses will be trimmed every 6 weeks, and two horses will be shod. One of the horses will be competing in saddle seat classes and the other will be doing three-day eventing. Any help with pricing in KY will help.

·
Registered
9,043 Posts
I am a student at MSU and am taking a horse management class this semester. I have a project to do where I can own as many horses as I want, basically, I start from the ground up...anyways I chose to have my horse farm in Kentucky. There's a farrier section that I have to complete, but I'm not sure what the average prices for trimming and shoeing are in Kentucky. For my project, two of my horses will be trimmed every 6 weeks, and two horses will be shod. One of the horses will be competing in saddle seat classes and the other will be doing three-day eventing. Any help with pricing in KY will help.
Is the saddleseat horse going to have packing on the fronts?

Your eventer horse will have the most expense, as they will likely need hot shoeing, clips and studs.

·
Premium Member
24,113 Posts
Is this hypothetical? While if it's for real horses, 'it depends' to some degree, as you might find cheap, but 'good' may be a different ballgame, and as AA said, depends what exactly is needed. And if real, ringing a farrier to just ask their prices doesn't tend to... win friends & influence people! But if it's hypothetical, purely for a course, why not ring a farrier & tell them so & ask their prices??

·
Registered
9,043 Posts