The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been leasing this horse for 6 months now, a 26 year old Morgan mare she's never been the best horse to mount. At first, she would just walk off once I got on her but I fixed this. She was good mounting for a month or two, then she started swinging her hips away from the mounting block. She did this one or two times, then stood quietly so I just thought she was playing games. When I mounted slowly, she would stand perfectly still. But yesterday, she swung her hips away for about a half hour, since I only ride for about 30 minutes anyways (because of her age) I ran out of time and I couldn't ride. I tried to keep her head bent towards me, but that would just make her swing her hips out even more. Then I tried walking her around the mounting block a few times. This worked, but the second I pit my foot in the stirrup she would swing her hips away. What should I do?

·
Registered
339 Posts
im subbing so i can see other's replies. My mare did I similar thing when i first started riding her. I always used a mounting block and would have to follow her around in circles just to get on. The more i rode her the less she would do it though. She will still take a step or two away if we are in a new place but it doesn't take that long. I have no idea how i "should" be handling it, but i think an important thing is to make sure you do mount her by the end of the session. If she's learning to do it as evasion and you do not get on, its working!

Maybe a possibility is you are pressing your toe in her rib when you get on?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·