The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to horses. I just built a horse barn for my daughter. She and her husband want all sorts of blanket racks etc... on the stall doors. As I feed the horses in their stalls and I happen to be in there with them at times I get bumped around by the horse inadvertently.
I am not too keen on the idea of things protruding into the aisle. I don't like things trashing up the hallway, as we have an adequate tack room. Plus, I worry about being pushed into some fixed metal projection. The current practice is to loop halter and lead ropes as pictured, which I have no problem with!
Is this a baseless concern?

Then there is the Golden Rule................ he who has the gold makes the rules, AND THAT IS ME!

Attachments

·
Registered
6,082 Posts
My horse would pull that into her stall and chew it up. I would also be concerned of the loop. Blanket racks and bridle hooks do not stick out bit 2 inches or so nor have any sharp edges. YOur daughter got a very nice barn.

·
Registered
17,077 Posts
You can get temporary saddle racks which are just a rectangular post of wood with a screw-in brass hookat the end. Then there is a screw in brass loop that the hook connects to, and the shape of the post causes it to stand horizontally. Just as easily you can take it away, or let it hang on its side.

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
Lots of places I've agisted at have had places to hang blankets - usually in stalls. They were home-made design usually with a long piece of polypipe with some rope thread through it, then tied highish on the wall. We'd hang the rug over it so it would only sit out the thickness of the rug. When un-used it was pretty much flush to the wall. This wouldn't work with horses that chewed though.